

Annual General Meeting of Members Alt Hotel, Ottawa

April 19, 2023, 9:00 AM Eastern (Reviewed by the Board June 19, 2023)

Attendance:

Stewart Madon, Canadian Psychological Association, Chair

Kevin Nilsen, ECO Canada Accreditation, Treasurer

Karem Langer, Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing, Member-At-Large

Anna-Marie Nielsen, Ontario College of Teachers, Vice-Chair

Deborah Wolfe, Federation of Law Societies of Canada, Past Chair

Alison Douglas, Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists

Pete Dewar, Canadian Athletic Therapists Association

Maureen Kershaw, Canadian Forestry Accreditation Board

Kathrina Loeffler, Canadian Massage Therapy Council for Accreditation

Frédéric Duguay, Commission on Dental Accreditation of Canada

Kathleen Raum, Occupational Therapist & Physiotherapist Assistant Education Accreditation Program-

Physiotherapy Education Accreditation Canada

Lisa Arcobelli, Physiotherapy Education Accreditation Canada

Ryan Jones, Planning Standards Board

Christian Vulpe, Canadian Massage Therapy Council for Accreditation

Monica Lovas, Canadian Massage Therapy Council for Accreditation

Mourad Mohand-Said, Canadian Architectural Certification Board

Cynthia Baker, Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing

Roselyne Lampron, Engineers Canada

Peter Waite, Association of Accrediting Agencies of Canada

1. Call to Order and Appointment of Recording Secretary

S. Madon called the meeting to order at 9:03 AM Eastern and appointed Peter Waite to act as Recording Secretary.

A-M. Nielsen confirmed that members were provided notice of the meeting at least 30 days in advance of the meeting as well as a proxy form. She noted that in accordance with the Bylaws, a quorum of member organizations was represented in person or by proxy. The Chair declared that a quorum was present, and the meeting duly constituted for business.

2. Approval of Agenda

Motion: Moved by K. Langer, seconded by K. Loeffler, to approve the agenda as circulated.

Carried

3. Approval of Minutes of the 2022 AGM

Motion: Moved by M. Kershaw, seconded by L. Arcobelli, to approve the April 11, 2022 AGM minutes.

4. Chair's Report

S. Madon noted COVID-19 has continued to affect not only the operations of AAAC but also of all Members. Despite this, the bi-monthly virtual Member Forums have continued to provide a regular opportunity to share and support each other.

2022 saw the completion of the transfer of management services to Association Events & Management International (AEMI).

A new website was launched, and more is to come on that front.

S. Madon thanked the Board for their continuing work and support. He also thanked the team from AEMI, Peter Waite, Cessy Muenker and Erica McCallum.

5. 2022 Financial Statements

- K. Nilsen thanked the AEMI team for their work on the financials. He reviewed highlights of the 2022 fiscal year.
- C. Vulpe and M. Kershaw presented the 2022 AAAC Financial Review.

They noted that the process was straightforward, and no concerns were identified.

The new Financial Review Policy developed by AEMI and adopted by the Board made the work of the review easier.

The reviewers recommended that the FS headings be updated to align with Not-For-Profit language. For example, replacing "Equity" with "Net Assets" on the Balance Sheet and "Gross Profit" with "Gross Revenue" and the bottom line "Profit" to "Surplus/ Deficit" or "Excess of Revenues over expenses".

P. Waite noted that the current headings were inherited from the prior management, and he would act on these recommendations.

Thanks were extended to M. Kershaw and C. Vulpe for conducting the 2022 Financial Review.

Motion: Moved by C. Vulpe, seconded by A. Douglas, to approve the 2022 Financial Review as presented.

Carried

Motion: Moved by K. Nilsen, seconded by A-M. Nielsen, to appoint a Financial Review Committee and waive the appointment of a public accountant for the financial year 2023.

Carried

Motion: Moved by K. Nilsen, seconded by D. Wolfe, to appoint volunteers, Maureen Kershaw and Alison Douglas to conduct the 2022 Financial Review.

Carried

6. Nominating Committee Report

- D. Wolfe extended thanks to the Officers and Directors who had served over the past year. In particular,
- S. Madon who had served three years as Chair.

The Bylaws allow for up to five Directors; the five nominations received are:

Anna Marie Nielsen, Ontario College of Teachers Kevin Nilsen, ECO Canada Karem Langer, Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing Christian Vulpe, Canadian Massage Therapy Council for Accreditation Deborah Wolfe, Federation of Law Societies of Canada

Motion: Moved by D. Wolfe, seconded by M. Mohand-Said, to approve the nominated Directors for a one-year term.

Carried

D. Wolfe then noted that Stewart Madon would serve Ex-Officio on the Board as Past Chair.

7. Other Business

There was no other business.

8. Adjournment

S. Madon terminated the 2022 Annual General Meeting at 9:32 a.m.